Folding the Fitted

The usual storage method for fitted sheets. Image: http://mylittleme.com/how-to-fail-at-pinterest/

The usual storage method for fitted sheets.
Image: http://mylittleme.com/how-to-fail-at-pinterest/

Growing up, while we did have household chores, there where also a lot of household things that just “magically” happened.  For instance, when my sheets were dirty, all I had to do was walk to the closet and grab a clean, neatly folded set from the shelf.  Once I was solely responsible for organizing my backstock of clean sheets, I discovered what an obstacle keeping them in those immaculate rows entailed.  I had a particularly exasperating relationship with the fitted sheet especially. I would carefully and gently fold it in as close to a shape and not blob as I could get it.  Throwing a hope into the universe that when I picked it up for transport that it wouldn’t immediately dissolved into a bunchy mess of pure mockery.  One day however,  I met someone who had conquered the fitted sheet, and who was willing to pass their knowledge along.  I now would like to do my part in sharing the sacred knowledge of how to fold a fitted sheet for proper storage. Below I’ve included instructions, with pictures, to help aide in your beating of that pesky fitted sheet.

TROUBLESHOOTING:

  • In order for the second folded corners to naturally form, when you first turn the sheet inside out, the bottom corners should actually be inverted, and facing the correct way.
  • If the sheet seems to get twisted, take a breath, and start again.  It is a delicate balance, and much like a knot, sometimes trying to pull just a tiny piece makes things worse.
  • Step Four is VERY IMPORTANT.  If you don’t switch hands, the oppositely folded corners will be twisted the wrong direction from each other.
  • A fitted sheet will NEVER lay perfectly flat.  What makes it the superior gripping sheet in the bed, makes it the inferior sheet for folding perfectly.

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Should you have any questions or issues while trying to complete this task, please don’t hesitate to contact me.  The best way is by email, hawkscorp@gmail.com.  I can either arrange to meet you in person or do a personal skype video training session.

6 thoughts on “Folding the Fitted

  1. Caitlynn,
    Thanks so much for sharing your expertise on the Student to Student forum!
    While I was here looking at the draft of your Instructions, I made a few feedback observations:
    Take a look at your blog post page design overall.
    It can use stronger headers (use those posted in the assignment itself), as well as smaller textblocks and the addition of color, images, pull quotes–whatever you can think of to make the blog post itself visually inviting.
    Those are also things to look for in other people’s posts.
    🙂

    • You’re very welcome for the sharing. Thank you for popping by to make some observations. I wasn’t completely satisfied with the layout to begin with, and these are some great suggestions on things I can do rectify that.

  2. Caitlynn, First off thanks for sharing your instructions. it worked and made it much simpler to fold a fitted sheet. Kudos!!! I am not sure but step 8 seemed a little confusing but I am not sure that there is a solution for that step.. It’s kind of the awkward step in folding the sheets (lack of corners 🙂 and on the last step of folding in half the sheet would it help to let the reader know they can fold up and sideways… I noticed that I folded up twice and over once.. Again. maybe it’s me. Thanks again for sharing because your way makes it some much easier to fold a sheet then my wad it up and stick it in between other sheets to hide it 🙂 Great job on a very awkward and complicated procedure that we all struggle with!!!! 🙂
    Erin

  3. Caitlynn, I have always had a hard time folding fitted sheets. Your instructions have simplified my folding life! I think you might need to add more of the superstructure to this post (intro, material list, description of equipment, warning, conclusion and contact number), those types of things, with bold headers.
    I had a bit of trouble with step 8, but I kept doing it, off camera, and I got it. That is a hard one to describe, and you did a good job, it’s just hard to wrestle with fitted sheets, and mine were pretty wrinkly and ornery.
    Overall, I think you did an awesome job, and I thank you again for simplifying this tedious, yet needed task.
    Just build on your superstructure and you’ll be golden. I posted the video I made using your instructions.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGTdwNcYSJU
    ~Meredith
    P.S. I also tried your advice on my embedding of the Google Doc and using the Edublog editor, and couldn’t figure it out. I really appreciate your help though.

  4. Hi Caitlynn
    I am so glad to know how to fold a fitted sheet now! I think your instructions were excellent. The pictures helped tremendously but your actual worded instructions were easy to follow as well. The layout of your post looks great but I don’t think you followed the superstructure completely. You need an Introduction, list of materials, description of materials, and a conclusion. I was told by a fellow classmate that we are supposed to include a “contact number” (can be 555) and name for the instructions as well. I will post my video response in the writing circle #3.
    Genna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *